HOMEMADE PICNIC

The title may sound slightly strange, but what it really means is to have a picnic, in your very own yard!

I’ve been hit by a certain bug that has caused me to feel very much under the weather. As a result, I was pretty much cooped up at home yesterday. However, my 6yo sis happened to have a day off school (e-learning … why didn’t we have them back then?) and so to make things fun for her and to maximise our time at home, I’ve decided to hold a picnic in our backyard!

It started with cookie baking. You see, I’m not domestically-gifted. I can try to cook, bake but most of the time, they’re pretty much a big failure. My sister has been waiting for me to return from Perth for this bake, and I didn’t want to disappoint her. So I picked up each of my sickly body cells and begrudgingly started to mix and whip and spread and whathaveyous (I’m no good with cooking terms). With a throbbing head and a tired body, I did a lazy job for the last batch. I made huge cookies because I couldn’t wait to finish up the batter so I can start cleaning up. I placed it in the oven, set the timer, waited in my room and then heard a harsh, angry yell from my dad. I rushed out and the whole kitchen and living room was filled with smoke (evidence of how terrible I am!) I honestly couldn’t hear the beeper. I don’t know if it’s because I was feeling so drowsy from the medicine. :/ Well anyway, not all of them were badly burnt. Majority seemed fine and have already been swept up by my food-loving sister.

Meet my sister, Adriana, who’s a mesh of lovely most of the time and annoyance 20% of the time:

Dress: Zouk Flea&Easy

Glasses: Borrowed

Geeky smile: Priceless

Glasses: Talisman at Far East Plaza (really cheap!)

Dress: Awoke On A Whale Heart

My burnt cookies which nobody touched except for my maid/domestic worker. They were hard as rocks! And fyi, these were made using Betty Crocker pre-mix. Idiot proof you say? Hmm I could blame it on the oven …

My cup of tea was perfectly fine, but notice the Havaianas slipper on the right? My maid was chasing away a baby lizard. That explains my terrified expression :O

Because my sister is sometimes camera shy (so she tends to give off stupid faces).

We don’t go to picnics often (Singapore while sunny and ideal for picnics is sadly also very humid) so we tried to make do with whatever items we had at home to decorate the place! Used the additional table cloth from the flea I had, Ikea stools as some sort of side table, and a vintage luggage I got off Lala Orange’s Clearance as the table. Innovative, no?

It was a great change from our usual sitting in front of the laptop/tv but unfortunately, I was abandoned at the yard halfway through the picnic because my sister got terrified by 1 big ant. Can’t blame her, I screamed when my maid was chasing away a baby lizard and it scrambled for its dear life under the picnic mat. (If you’re wondering what happened to it … my maid managed to take it far far away from us).

In any case, that few minutes of leisure took my mind off my sickness (mind over matter? but I’m getting sick again from eating the cookies tsk tsk).

Any other interesting ways to spend your time at home? I’d love to hear from you!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “HOMEMADE PICNIC

  1. Aenoi 15/07/2010 at 12:27 am Reply

    Love your dress…cute!
    No comments on cookies :-X

    • pocketofvintage 15/07/2010 at 12:29 am Reply

      Thanks Aenoi ( : My cookies look really bad don’t they? Haha!

  2. reen 19/07/2010 at 5:16 pm Reply

    http://cherninshan.livejournal.com/14977.html#cutid1

    SAW THIS AND THOUGHT OF YOU!
    guess why?

    • pocketofvintage 19/07/2010 at 10:11 pm Reply

      ( : no prizes for guessing? Heh! They’re pretty though. Am actually quite torn between the two …

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!

