UNTAPPED TREASURE

So yesterday, my boyfriend and I stumbled upon this store after running some errands.

I don’t know why I have never took notice of it before when I’ve passed by the same row of shops probably hundreds of times. We had actually been to the party shop at Golden Landmark (Village) Shopping Clompex along Ophir Road. The shop we went to is just 2 shops away, and what actually caught our eye was the clutter.

The shop, if put harshly, is full of junk, has no form of good presentation and seems really tiny and well, dingy. We were drawn by the massive array of ‘junk’ that I would much prefer to call ‘treasure’ which could be seen through the glass window. And boy, there was plenty.

Took a step into the shop, and we’d spent an hour in there, examining the things that we liked, asking the owner to show us more things that we’re interested in, listened to stories he had to share … basically having our own good, quiet time in there. Since it was so small it could only hold about 4 people each time.  A good thing though because my boyfriend and I had the store all to ourselves (except for the last bit where an old Chinese guy came along).

The person who mans and owns the treasure chest  is a really kind, friendly, middle-aged Indian man that addressed us as ‘Brother’ and ‘Sister’, and unlike a lot of stall owners, he didn’t put any sort of pressure on us. In fact, we were pretty comfortable around him, egging him to tell us the stories behind the items or asking him for advice on how to function a certain product. Fyi, according to Mr Faruk, he gets a lot of his things from sailors whose ships were docked in Singapore for a pitstop (ok, the last bit is made up by me but I’m certain that’s the case??)

Like all good things, we had to end our visit there (one hour is seriously not enough) but we would definitely visit this man and his store often in the near future.

My boyfriend and I got ourselves a few items from there (the owner says he has a store as in, a store room, above the shop … can you imagine that much treasure hidden??) There’s everything in there. All you have to do is just ask!

Pictures below!

What a cute name, right! “Dinky Di” Haha. Should ask what inspired him to come up with that name.

** I just did a google search, and Dinky Di is slang for ‘true blue’, what is real so yes, I guess it’s to emphasize the authenticity of the goods.

A Zorki camera, a Leica copy, who is approximately 70 years old and is made in the USSR. The only one in the shop.

He nabbed it at a really good price.

I got myself this picnic basket complete with plates and mugs … and in there, I’ve conveniently hidden my other stash of goods I’ve purchased. Hehe (;

It’s so easy to get there:

Alight at Bugis Mrt Station, walk towards Raffles Hospital *Banquet, find Golden Landmark shopping complex opposite, and you’ll see the store!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “UNTAPPED TREASURE

  1. Aenoi 20/07/2010 at 9:27 pm Reply

    From last entry, you make me feeling so excited. 555

    This place is packed with treasure indeed!
    I like it! My boyfriend will like it too. Will pop around someday soon. Thanks for sharing. :)

  2. pocketofvintage 20/07/2010 at 10:44 pm Reply

    It’s my pleasure, Aenoi!
    Really is filled to the brim with treasure. Just have to keep diggin’ and askin’ ( :
    If you find that the door’s locked, you just have to give him a ring. His no. is found on the door.

  3. Aenoi 21/07/2010 at 7:40 pm Reply

    Okidokie! ^^

  4. Leon 26/07/2012 at 6:55 pm Reply

    I love to have exactly the basket you bought.. but I supposed there is only one? :(

    • pocket101 16/10/2012 at 5:40 pm Reply

      You’re right Leon, there’s only one exact one. However, I’ve seen very similar ones at Op Shops and Flea Markets too, so why not give those a try? I hope you’ll find a basket that you’ll love soon! (:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!

