CAMP PONG

I’ve been really busy these few days trying to squeeze in more meet ups with my Singaporean buddies, planning for my sister’s + mom’s birthdays, satisfying last minute food cravings, scavenger hunts at Zara sales, finding more home decor for my apartment in Perth, stationery shopping (the stationery in Australia is ridiculous = limited variety and pricey) etc etc. It has been a whirlwind of a week, but a really enjoyable one.

I had spent one of the most unbelievably amazing days yesterday with 2 people who are very very dear to me – the love of my life (Hahaha. I get ticklish putting it like that!) and a former housemate of mine. We ate nonstop, talked nonstop, shopped nonstop, walked nonstop (even with the heat, I think it’s a very Singaporean thing to do – especially along Orchard Rd), but one of the best things that happened was our visit to Camp Pong at Scape.

I first read about it a few months back on Angela Gray’s blog and reminisced on those times where my family would go on short trips to neighbouring countries (inc. Sentosa) and how we’d book a ping pong table and play for an hour or two. I got excited at the thought of playing ping pong again, and finally had the time and chance to pop by for a play!

Priced at $10 per 1/2 hour, it may seem steep for some (actually it is … unless you can cough out money) but it’s a real cool chillout place that serves both alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, and music. We were the only ones around at that time (it was 5.30pm on a Wednesday) and though we weren’t particularly good, we had tons of fun for that good hour.

Camp Pong is located at 02-24, Scape (you can’t miss it if you’re coming from Cineleisure Orchard) and is actually a pop up store, so book yourselves a spot if you want to break away from the heat, the crowd and the typical window shopping/movie watching.

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “CAMP PONG

  1. hollyjean 25/07/2010 at 1:51 pm Reply

    hey ya.. just checked this place out.. it’s a nice chill out pub at night!

    :) wld not have known abt this place if not for u

    • pocketofvintage 27/07/2010 at 2:30 pm Reply

      Oo so I guess it’s more ‘happening’ at night. Glad I’d helped you find another cool spot in Sg. (:

  2. Lenne 25/07/2010 at 6:43 pm Reply

    I’ve noticed it before but I never realized it was for ping pong! Haha. Price really is steep! I’ll have to wait till I cough out money then ):

  3. pocketofvintage 27/07/2010 at 2:32 pm Reply

    Haha! It is pretty steep huh! But while I was still in Sg, I thought I should just give it a go. Go with 3 other friends and split the cost!

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!

