PARFUM

I don’t know about you, but I find perfumes to be very impactful. Perhaps it’s just aroma in general, like how when you smell baked cookies you think of happy times with friends and family … or a kind old grandma adorned in a baby blue apron with white, curly hair.

To me, each person should stick to only one perfume. Much like a soulmate, a person can only truly relate to a single fragrance.

For instance, whenever I smell Pleasures by Estee Lauder, I think of my mom. My mom always smells of it, and growing up, the slightest hint of the fragrance would give me a sense of comfort.

I’ve been using Incanto Charms by Salvatore Ferragamo for about a good 3-4 years now. It’s fruity, floral and feminine. I used to bring it with me everywhere I go and the thrill I get when I open my bag and the fragrance engulfs the air … calming yet exhilirating.

Though I still love it – love love love it – I’m not getting a kick out of its EDT (eau de toilette) quality. Basically what it means is, it is not as long lasting as an EDP (eau de parfum). I feel that because of its temporal characteristic, I would have to use up even more of it at one go. Don’t get me wrong, the bottle (I get the 100ml ones) can last me pretty long, say about 1.5 years maybe – but an EDP should last me even longer.

So here’s the part where I go on a hunt! (I realise I’ve been on many hunts lately). I want something with similar notes, but in EDP form. After months of scouring, here are my ‘finalists’ (hahaha, joke):

Rose by Paul Smith

I first smelled this perfume some time this year and fell in love instantly. It’s light, and has an understated floral scent to it (of course – it’s supposed to smell of roses but just sweeter and not as overpowering).

I Love Love by Moschino

I don’t know why  the bottle looks tacky in my opinion, but this dates back to the days when I was still young and using Anna Sui’s Secret Wish. I think I was 16 then. I like the oriental note on this one. I believe there’s some mandarin orange scent to it (don’t quote me).

Light Blue by Dolce & Gabbana

I got this in sample form as part of a door gift for my Secondary School prom. I really like how it smells. I probably shouldn’t even begin to describe it because I won’t make sense, but anyway, to me it’s like the more sophisticated form of Moschino’s I Love Love.

{All images from Google}

You know what, I think I’ve been nose-blinded by some of the fragrances here because I just realised that two of them are EDTs (basically the last two). So I don’t know what’s the point of having them in my list. I’m so silly :S

Well anyway, if you are, unlike me, looking for a spray instead of perfume, and you like fruity, floral notes, you should check these 2 out. I can’t guarantee if you’d like it as much as I do though.

What fragrances do you wear?

On a side note, Happy 10 10 10 Everyone! Doesn’t it make you want to hum the wedding march? 10 10 10 10 … :D
Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “PARFUM

  1. The Velvet Bow 10/10/2010 at 8:08 am Reply

    I definitely agree with having a signature scent, but I like to have different ones for the different stages in my life. I always have a bottle of CKIN2U, and I have dabbled with Gucci Envy Me, Lancome Hypnose and Britney Spears Curious (lol!).

    Right now I am wanting a bottle of YSL Parisienne, and I cant decide whether to wait and get it duty free or buy now!

  2. Kristal 16/10/2010 at 1:33 pm Reply

    Oh goodness! The pocket is 21! Happy apnn! (: Far out!

  3. Lenne 17/10/2010 at 12:02 pm Reply

    I agree with the whole one scent soulmate thing! Haha I also love how people change the scent when their mood changes etc. As much as I think Gucci Guilty is sexy, I don’t use any perfumes though! ):

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!

