I’VE GOT THE WORLD ON A STRING – LOOKBOOK

Drawing from my love of fashion and film, this lookbook was very much inspired by the star-studded movie, Mona Lisa Smile. I first watched it back when I was about 16 and fell in love with it for the female empowering story line and of course, the 50s fashion. The film, in my opinion, had a different presentation to style of that era. Unlike most 1950s inspired works, Mona Lisa Smile displays a contemporary twist in the sartorial sense and I guess that was why I was so compelled to use it as my inspiration.

This time round my brother and I managed to rope in another photographer, Kapilan, and a humble but superb model, Xaviera to help us out. Again, it seems that the weather was in our favour when we executed this shoot – the two photographers couldn’t stop gushing about how awesome the natural lighting was. Here are my favourites from the two outfits:

stringlook1.1stringlook1.2stringlook1.3stringlook1.4stringlook1.6stringlook1.7stringlook1.5stringlook2.1stringlook2.2stringlook2.3stringlook2.4stringlook2.5stringlook2.7stringlook2.6

I think it was by chance Kirsten Dunst starred in the two films which inspired both my shoots thus far. This look was created with the affluent and preppy girl in mind, much like the Wellesley Girl in Betty Warren (Kirsten’s character).

Photographer & Editor: Hafiz Kamsadi // Stylist & Creative Director: Hannah Kamsadi // Assistant Director: Kapilan Naidu // Make-Up: Siti Shafiqah // Hair: Hannah Kamsadi // Model: Xaviera Ho // Wardrobe: Stylist’s Own

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “I’VE GOT THE WORLD ON A STRING – LOOKBOOK

  1. stylewaffle 28/01/2013 at 8:05 pm Reply

    Love these shots they re really good. 1st look is amazing. Thanks for sharing :)

  2. pocket101 28/01/2013 at 11:52 pm Reply

    Thank you for your kind words, stylewaffle!

  3. Maya @ House Nerd 27/02/2013 at 11:20 am Reply

    Hannah when I saw these photos, I have to admit I first thought wow this girl must have a lot of money. The photos are so professional and the clothes are amazing (not to mention your model). When I read more and found out how you love styling on a budget I was so delighted! I love it when people admit that they don’t need to spend a lot on clothes to look a million bucks. Love your style! Do you have a Facebook page or Instagram?

    • pocket101 27/02/2013 at 3:47 pm Reply

      Thank you Maya for your kind words. Things like these make my day! (: Money can’t buy class & style so it doesn’t matter to me if your dress is $4 or $4000 (if you can’t carry it well, what’s the point?)

      I don’t have a Facebook page as yet. Maybe someday soon. But I’m all available at @pocketpeeks on Instagram. (:

      • housenerdmaya 01/03/2013 at 1:27 pm

        I’m all over it! :) and so true that it’s about how you carry it!

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!

