ASIAN INVASION

Vests are a common sight during this time of the year. Fur vests are especially on trend right now.

But puffy vests? Asians have been known to wear them since … forever. I’ve decided to forge stronger bonds with my culture by slipping into one last Friday morning. They’re made for days that brew the right blend of sunshine and wintry air.

IMG_8932

“Puffy” vest – Big W, $24 (I think?) // Necklace – Lovisa, $7 // Pants – Glassons, $20 // Clutch – Dorothy Perkins

Also a peace sign, because that’s what Asians do best too.

Before I go …

Iylia (while walking behind me): You look like an Ah Ma* in your outfit, including the flats. I think it’s the flats.

IMG_8917

Me: What?! Are you serious?! (but not deterred enough to turn around and give a scowl)

Iylia: Yeah, I swear Ah Mas wear pants and shoes like that.

Me: (in my mind, images like these pop up – refer below)

ahma

Iylia: – But I’m sure you can make it look cool!!

Nice save there, Iylia. 

So on top of looking extra Asian, I look like an Asian grandmother. Sweet!

I might actually get those pair of flats … if grandmas love them, why wouldn’t I??

*Ah Ma refers to a Chinese elder lady

Images are mine except for bottom two taken from (1) and (2).

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!

