24

24 foetusHow I was 24 years ago … some things never change. Also, Kristal was trying to be funny and wrote me a birthday message in Google Translate-guided Javanese (my “identified” race).

I had the most awesome birthday ever! Surprises were kept to a minimum and I didn’t have all of my loved ones physically celebrating it with me but I think that’s what makes it all the sweeter … the messages they sent to express their love for me were heart-felt. I really feel so blessed and loved <3

While I can’t possibly share their messages with you, here are some of the things I received – I guess my birthday wish list served really well! Haha! SO MANY BEAUTY PRODUCTS!

birthday beauty

They are mainly from Benefit and YSL with Lancôme Hypnôse mascara, Laura Mercier’s Tinted Moisturizer in a pan and Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer gifted to me by my friend Reen, my brother and his girlfriend, and Iylia (Thank You card designed by another friend, Amanda of Twiddledee!)

I’m going to briefly share my opinions on the 3 things pointed out in the picture above:

1. YSL Le Tent Touche Éclat Illuminating Foundation

ysl le teint touch eclat foundation

Apparently this foundation took 10 years to refine and produce – a foundation equivalent of the Touche Éclat pen. It came as a package with the pen, at $110 from Myer. It would otherwise cost $76 on its own (if I remember correctly).

I was a little hesitant about getting this product despite the great bundle value because a) I had been eyeing the Hourglass Veil Fluid Makeup Foundation but my recommended colour (Ivory) was out of stock everywhere (I was secretly a little happy because paying $87 for a bottle of foundation no matter how awesome it sounds is something I can’t really stomach), b) I had been reading reviews online that the YSL Le Teint foundation would be amazing only on dry skin – with oily skin it’ll melt off real quickly. I have combi skin. The YSL girl claimed that my skin looks pretty much dehydrated and convinced me to give it a try – she was really nice to give me a sample of the product to road test alongside my purchase. If it didn’t work for me, I can always come back to return or exchange! Great! Win win, I thought.

It’s been about 5 days since I’ve been using the sample foundation and I like it – enough to warrant a permanent lease in my beauty stash! Mine is in BD40, and it is a tad lighter than what I’d love so I might head down for a rematch and exchange. A head’s up for you – the YSL Le Teint Touche Éclat foundation comes in 17 different shades so you will most definitely find one that suits you best!

The lasting power seems pretty good to me as well, and even though certain parts of my face is oilier than the rest, my make-up didn’t melt off at all! It could possibly be due to the primer I use, the Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer. With that said, the YSL Le Teint foundation does provide luminosity and “radiance” which I guess is why it’s not recommended for oilier skin who’d often prefer a more matte finish. I didn’t use any powder to set my make up too because I didn’t want my skin to feel too heavy. It has about medium coverage – so you’ll definitely need a concealer to hide any further blemishes. Packaging looks divine and luxurious though a little impractical for travelling due to the glass bottle.

2. Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer

hourglass veil mineral primer

OMG. This is like magic!? I had no intentions of buying this at all but now it might actually be my HG product. I actually walked in to Mecca Cosmetica with Iylia (he had asked me to pick out my presents) to get the foundation equivalent of this. The Mecca girl was matching me for foundation and suggested using the primer beforehand. I said, Why not? Anyway, I was already testing it out while waiting to be attended – this primer made my hand soooo smooth, I was thrilled. When Mecca girl (this somehow sounds rude but it’ll have to do for now) pumped the primer onto the back of her hand, she said she had something to show me. So she took a burgundy eyeshadow, patted it onto that area, sprayed some water over and guess what – EVERYTHING STAYED!! The water was practically just trickling down by the globule!! She went on to explain that the primer turns everything to waterproof! Perfect for the spring/summer season!! I was sold. I mean, especially if I have combi skin which does get a whole lot oilier whenever I go back to Singapore to visit this must be what I need!! At $79, this was pretty damn pricey as well, but I do get by with just about two 1/2 pumps (I know that mathematically makes up to 1 pump but I don’t quite feel 2 1/2 pumps is as much) so it should last me quite a while, I hope. It has an SPF15 but I would highly recommend to still apply your regular daily sunscreen – I use an SPF50 from Bioré! I’m very kiasu (singlish for ‘afraid to lose out’ or ‘being greedy’) like that.

Anyway, back to the primer and my YSL foundation … like I said, its magical “turns everything to waterproof” factor may have played a big role in maintaining the YSL foundation’s lasting power on me.

3. Benefit Porefessional Primer

benefit porefessional

My brother and his girlfriend gifted me with this, alongside the They’re Real! mascara and Benetint (which I’m really happy about!! I’d picked out the Benefit Feelin’ Dandy kit from Iylia which contains the Posie Tint instead)

Right after I posted my wishlist, I had friends flooding my Whatsapp telling me that the Porefessional isn’t as great as it’s made out to be. It clogged their pores and made them break out! After having to deal with a crazy break out for a year, 2 years back (I was in my experimental phase) I never want to go down that path anymore. It was painful – and expensive. 

So I’m really not sure if I should return this? What are your thoughts? Have you tried it before? I’m just a little curious as to why YouTube bloggers rave about this product if its “bad” for my friends.

My other gifts also included a £50 ASOS voucher from Iylia’s sister and bro-in-law (WOWZA! I was grinning from ear to ear!!) and most importantly, … my mom is gifting me a BLOGSHOP CLASS!

The Whatsapp conversation went something like this:

Mama: Btw, you are not expecting any present from me right? You’ve got the airfryer.

Me: No, no that’s okay. I’m not!

Mama: What if I gave you this? (sends through the blogshop 2013 class schedule)

Me: :O!!! ARE YOU SURE!?

Mama: Paying for your Blogshop class!!!! YES!!

I teared. So touched. And then I tweeted about it, and designlovefest re-tweeted it. OMG, tell me how can I not have the best birthday ever!? The question now is when to go for the Blogshop! It’ll be in the US and though they have several classes happening in December, I am not able to take leave from work that time of year – or should I just quit for this? Ha ha ha!

Some snaps from my birthday weekend:

big w mambo dressDress – Big W (girl’s department), $29 // Clutch – Kmart, $12 // Wedges – Lipstik

perth boysMy Perth boys

birthday candlebig w hearts dressDress – Big W (girls’ department), $12 // Heels – Kmart, $25 // Necklace – Lovisa, $15

live colourfullyThese are a few of my favourite things, and colours

iylia and hannah freoMy favourite guy!

You should also know by now how much I love eating. So the one thing that I did over my birthday weekend was to try out new places to eat. I will share them with you in the next few posts and tell you my honest opinions on each of these eateries!

x Hannah

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “24

  1. Amanda 17/10/2013 at 5:55 pm Reply

    Made me cry of jealousy!

    • The Pocket Issue 17/10/2013 at 6:14 pm Reply

      Haha, oh no Amanda! Don’t cry! Try the birthday wish list method – I think it works!! ;D (no more Thor night light most definitely)

  2. Reen 17/10/2013 at 6:46 pm Reply

    <3 <3 <3 Yay! Let me know when you try the products! xoxo

    • The Pocket Issue 17/10/2013 at 10:47 pm Reply

      I have tried most!! You know the funny thing is that the small tube of YSL is exactly the foundation I got – just a different shade! Maybe it fits me better? I’ll have a go at it tomorrow (:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!

