PLUM IT UP

I have been obsessed with repinning images with this rich, dark purple hue. While traditionally suited for Fall, after seeing my friend Michelle wear it as part of her everyday look, I’m honestly convinced it’s made for all seasons! Plum is definitely something edgier and more interesting than your regular pinks, reds, and nude lippies.

With that said, I personally feel that for a woman to pull off this hue, she has to have a certain je ne sais quoi. It’s bold – but of a strong, quiet profile and I … am pretty certain I don’t fall into that category. I probably belong to the happy and bubbly department – plum lips won’t look as cool on me hence diminishing that edgy effect, yet I’m more than willing to give it a go! You just gotta make it work somehow, right!?

plum 3plum 1plum riri

Literally making a bold statement with the lips by having subtle makeup everywhere else.

plum 6

This is more of a dark wine shade – a safer option if you’re not as adventurous! Feathery lashes, strong brows and gold dusted on the eyelids make for a great night out!

plum 8 plum 2plum 7

When wearing a dark bold lip like plum or burgundy, it’s best to keep your colour palette as neutral as possible. This means dressing in blacks, whites, or browns accented with gold or even pewter to keep it current and elegant … while you turn edgy and daring all at once! Just look at the picture above – it IS possible – without looking OTT either.

plum 9

If you’re itching for a change, definitely try a little dark lip to update your look! Here are some pretty amazing deals you can get to help kick things off:

plum lip collage

I actually own the exact lipsticks of #1 and #2, purchased during my experimental/adventurous phases. The Revlon Just Bitten Lip Stain comes off as a dark wine/berry colour depending on how intense you want it to appear. It’s my go-to product for lazy days! Seriously, super easy wear. Not that long lasting, but crazily convenient to slide on your lips that you wouldn’t even mind touching up the whole day! I’m seen wearing it in this post.

1. Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Crush, available from Priceline at $17.95
2. Maybelline Color Sensational Lipcolor in Plum Perfect, available from Priceline at $16.96
3. Rimmel London Kate Moss Lasting Finish Lipstick in 004 (Little Black Dress), available from Priceline at $11.95
4. RiRi Hearts MAC Lipstick in Talk the Talk, available from MAC Counters at $36

Dare yourself to get a re-vamp today (get it? cause purple lips are so vampy) and let me know how it goes!! xx

Images taken from Pinterest, Google Images Search, Gary Pepper Girl and The Atlantic Wire.

ps. Reliable Youtube Beauty Guru Michelle Phan just released a tutorial on How To Wear A Dark Lip! Great timing, huh?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “PLUM IT UP

  1. thewallflowerbeauty 10/11/2013 at 3:30 pm Reply
  2. Reen Wz 10/11/2013 at 8:51 pm Reply

    Hey thepocketissue! I would love to see you with burgundy/plum lips!! This post would be so good for the ladies on http://www.vanitytrove.com :P
    #truth. <3

    • The Pocket Issue 10/11/2013 at 10:27 pm Reply

      Hi Reen! I’ll send over one unglam picture of me in it – from 2.5 years back! :p Also going to post it up on VT! x

  3. Maya from House Nerd 15/11/2013 at 11:43 am Reply

    You have to do plum lips! I know what you mean about it seeming to be something that belongs in the edgy, dark, somber-no-smiling variety… but I think you would rock it, in your happy and bubbly way. You would start a trend!! Plum lips with a gorgeous smile.

    • The Pocket Issue 19/11/2013 at 3:27 pm Reply

      Aww Maya! You’re always flattering me … but I’m not complaining hahaha. I’ve been meaning to try it!! One of these days I’ll do it and upload onto Instagram! Happy girls can be plum girls too, right?!

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!

