YOUR (ALMOST) GUIDE TO SINGAPORE

home_1

I know you’ve noticed I’ve been on a hiatus. In fact, I didn’t even finish posting about my Melbourne trip (missing out good ol’ Ballarat)!! After that holiday, I had been living alone – for the first time in my entire life. And things change when you live alone. I think I grew to be somewhat a recluse, preferring to take this whole “living alone” thing to another level by spending time mostly … well, alone (weirdo). I kept my verbose self occupied with Instagram (I’m a LOT more diligent with this thing) and stayed active by running marathons – the New Girl marathon and the Carrie Diaries marathon.

Now that I’m back in Singapore, I have a lot more interesting things to share on this page! I hope you’ll find a thing or two useful and/or interesting.

home_2Wearing dress from Paper Scissors, $15.99

A few hours upon arrival, my family decided to bring me to parts of Singapore that I’ve never been before. I know – how can this be?! Singapore is so tiny! This was taken at the Woodlands Waterfront – literally across from Malaysia (in the background).

This January/February I also got to celebrate Chinese New Year with Iylia and his family for the second time (I missed out on the hong baos or packet money last year – dammit! Hahah!).

home_19home_20
Donned in our New Year outfits: Iylia in a shirt I bought him from Pigeonhole and me in a dress from Grammah at Haji Lane. Both were at 50% off. #solucky

I also got to eat lots and LOTS and LOTS (!!!) of good food. What’s a “guide” (not really a guide, just lumping all my pictures together to be honest :3) to Singapore without having pictures of food!? Food is to Singapore what a tap is to a sink (I tried).

home_3Mutton Chop and Bee Hoon Goreng Combo from Adam Road Food Centre, $5

Just about two of my favourite food ever – combined into one single dish!! And won’t you just look at that price!?

home_4Cold soba from Koh Grill & Sushi Bar

home_5Chocolate Hazelnut cake from La Marelle Café

home_6
Salted Caramel cupcake from Plain Vanilla Bakery, $3.50

home_6
Poached eggs on thick toast, smoked salmon, gruyere and hollandaise from Group Therapy Coffee, $15

home_7
Chocolate Sea Salt Caramel Tart from Carpenter & Cook, $6.50

home_16
Green Banana Cake and Caramel Popcorn cake from The Pantry @ Shop Wonderland

Food in Singapore is a lot more than these sweet treats. I unfortunately didn’t take enough photos of the food I’d consumed.

While in Singapore, I also did a lot of exploring – on my own, or with friends. I love feeling like a tourist in the city I was born in (though Death Cab for Cutie disagrees and I am also really lame).

Raffles Hotel

My cousin, Shafiqah, and I headed down to this popular landmark to visit an exhibition. I like being in here because I forget that I’m in Singapore – although ironically most tourists relate this place to this little island.

home_8home_9home_10home_13home_14home_12
Windowshop exhibition by Dawn Ng

Ann Siang Hill

Probably one of the last places in Singapore that still boasts old world charm. It’s the perfect hideaway for drinks with friends at bars or cafés. Or you can follow our lead and pass through here to get from Chinatown to Singapore’s business district.

home_16home_17home_18home_19
Wearing Zara top, Forcast pants, Kmart Clutch, Lovisa beads and watch

Haji Lane

No trip to Singapore is complete without a trip to Haji Lane and its surrounding areas. I love Haji Lane for its constant abuse of colours.

home_21home_22
Elffin & Elffin café
home_23home_24home_25
Books at Soon Lee

home_24
Shop with the prettiest front at Wonderland

home_26

Wearing top from Zalora, Asos pants and Lovisa accessories

We also took a short stroll from Haji Lane to a Very Small Exhibition by The Letter J Supply at Shaw Towers on Beach Road.

home_26home_27home_28home_29home_40

I was being all picky trying to find a dolphin pin out of a whole container full of animals. No, I didn’t find my dolphin.

home_41

I did find these two cuties though for $5 a pin!

home_29Wearing Zara top, vintage skirt from Editor’s Market and F21 clutch

Tiong Bahru

As one of the oldest housing estates in Singapore, Tiong Bahru was recently given the treatment it needed to inject vibrancy into this quiet and mellow neighbourhood. It is now filled with gems hidden in each and every nook. You can find plenty of cafés here as well as boutiques that offer local or exclusive products.

home_30home_31
Plain Vanilla Bakery

home_32
Woods in the Books

home_33
The Dispensary

home_34
Remnants of Singapore’s past

home_34
Fell in love with the typography and attracted to the concept of these jars found at Bloesem Shop

home_35
Taken by the lovely Irene, owner of Bloesem. Here I’m wearing vintage yellow pants found in Northbridge, beaded necklace from a shop in Mandurah and Decjuba‘s clutch

home_36
Err, one pants two ways?

Coincidentally, I had worn the same pair of pants taken on my last visit to Tiong Bahru. What can I say? This girl’s been rotating her minimal wardrobe for a month now.

Speaking of wardrobe, here are some of my buys in Singapore:

home_37
Floral dress (worn earlier in the post) and candies from Grammah, botanical top from Bysi, tote bag and brooches from wheniwasfour and card by Teresa Lim

home_38
Parrots clutch from C.A.M, Bak Choy tote and 70s plates from Oddyssey – Odds & Whatnots

home_39
Pink Pointed Pumps from Charles & Keith, $79.90

I bought the above pair (trust me, there’s one for my left foot) to commemorate the start of a new job! Yes, I am moving on to a full-time, office working environment. Not exactly my childhood dream … but this will hopefully get me there one day!! Which also brings me to the next point: I’m moving back to Singapore come March, leaving practically a week to pack up my Perth life. Heartbreaking.

While I’m upset that I will be leaving my home of almost 6 years now, I’m very much excited to start this new life too! Singapore’s been good to me the past month and I can’t wait to discover more things about my hometown to share with all of you. For more instantaneous updates, look me up on Instagram! @thepocketissue (shameless plug, yay!)

I hope you’ve also enjoyed this post where I’d aimed to show all of you living abroad the good finds in Singapore and to those already here, to constantly keep our eyes open because Singapore really isn’t that boring if you look hard enough – me, included!

x
Hannah

All images are mine

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me!

